EAC Update and hopes for the future

Hi, new to the boards but have almost 700 hours in VRChat (which I’ll just refer to henceforth as VRC since it’s easier) as of typing this. I’ve been reading the blog updates since phys bones dropped and I’m even starting to create worlds and avis soon TM. I say all this just to preface this post with the fact that I care a lot about VRC. I haven’t even had my Index for a full year at this point (played as early as 2019 on Desktop), but I would be lying if I didn’t say this game was a huge part of my life now. I met so many people I would now consider my family through this game, so I really do want to see it flourish and be the best version of itself it can be.

So, with all that said, please at least delay the EAC update. I’m no expert on anti-cheat solutions, but I do love modding. I’ve modded games, consoles, phones, and more, and I know for a fact that EAC won’t stop mods, just delay them at best and add an unnecessary level of risk to running them. At the very least, how I personally view mods, is that they’re a labor of love from the community. They are there to enhance their experience so that they can continue to use the product that they love. They add new things the developers might not have even thought people would want, they can be as broad or hyper-specific as the community wants, and to top it all off the devs don’t have to worry about implementing these features ASAP since they technically do exist. They can take their time to prioritize more prominent things while the community can handle the finer details until they have the time and resources to tackle them themselves. Mods have lots of unique benefits that I think the dev team is either overlooking or undervaluing. It is literally impossible for them to implement every feature the community requests, but with mods, it takes a lot of the load off of them.