Why is my While loop crashing my UdonBehaviour Program?

I’m creating a currency system similar to World of Warcraft (Copper, Silver and Gold) so when the player reaches 100 copper, it turns into 1 silver, and so on for silver to gold. I’ve made a little debug log that shows me the player’s level, monster’s level, how much experience was earned and how much money is earned. I’m wanting to translate this system into the debug log but since the trigger is an interact event and not an update event, it isn’t able to do the subtraction part multiple times in a row. My solution to this was going to be a While loop but it seems to crash my program anytime the value goes over what I’ve put. Anyone got any information about this? This is my first time attempting to use a While loop.

You might want to use a for loop for this…

While loops can be funky and never exit for one reason or another, but you kinda already know the answer to your own question.

Simply divide the copper by 100 and use that in your subtraction.

If I for example have 852 copper, I know I either need to use a for loop 8 times, or I can just subtract 800 copper and add 8 silver.

You’re kinda overthinking it :slight_smile:

Right but how do I tell it to subtract specifically 800 copper and not the extra 52? :thinking:

Let me try to explain my system.

I click a button which is simulating me killing a monster.

Based on monster’s level, it gives me experience and money.

The part where it gives me money works and is fine, but the part that logs how much money I earned in THAT kill is the part where I’m kinda struggling. The thing is, the variables I’m using need to be zero for the next kill I do for it to calculate it properly.

This part gives me the player the money, while also setting the temporary money for the log.

This part is a temporarily very sloppy attempt at calculating the logged part.

This part is what calculates the player’s money. It’s trigger is an Update event. It works just fine.