Udon Graph variable access

So I’m new to unity scripting and Udon. I’m working through a unity scripting course and trying to mirror it in Udon Graph. Hopefully this is not too stupid of a question.

Question: How do I access the contents of a defined variable of another Udon Graph script?

I did a test and it seems like all public variables (names) are local and only accessible inside the Udon Graph script they are created in. Meaning if I use the exact same variable name in another Udon Graph, its considered a different variable container. Is this correct? Could someone demonstrate how I to define a udon graph variable in one object, and access and modify it in another object with a different udon graph script.

if you’re learning normal programming, why not just use udon#? GitHub - MerlinVR/UdonSharp: An experimental compiler for compiling C# to Udon assembly

I’m trying to learn both methods. I have friends that only use Udon Graph. I would like to be able to design in both.

Unlike C#, In the Udon Graph there’s no direct access to public variables from other Udon behaviours. Instead you must use an UdonBehaviour.GetProgramVariable Node. The Node accepts an Udon Behaviour Variable as the “Instance Input”, this is the other Udon program you’re trying to get a public variable from. You also have to provide a String value, which is the exact name (Same capitalization and all) of the variable you’re trying to get from the other program. Here is an example in the graph;

You can also do the opposite and Set the value of a public variable on another program via a UdonBehaviour.SetProgramVariable Node.