SDK2 or SDK3 for beginner at world building?

I’m a total beginner but I spent some time trying to learn before asking this question.

I’d like to try building some worlds - nice, but maybe not groundbreaking. My background: some very limited visual basic and I’ve learned to build a few very simple SDK2 & SDK3 worlds (a disc, some imported models, shaders, skybox, few lights).

My question is, should I start with SDK2 or jump into SDK3/Udon from the start, even if I don’t think I need Udon’s capabilities at this time?

SDK2 - Definitely Bakery and Mesh Baker are compatible. Zillions of Youtube videos. It just looks easier. But maybe I’m wasting my time learning something that will become obsolete, or that I can’t update with some new tool to better handle VRChat visitors?

SDK3 - Future proofed but I don’t know about compatibility with Bakery/Mesh Baker and I’ve been told that some asset store landscape & other kits won’t work because they’re script-based. Far fewer help videos and pre-fabs. Most important - learning Udon and far worse, possibly C#…looks like a big and scary time commitment, especially compared to SDK2.

Any advice is appreciated!

generally I’d say in terms of avaliable tutorials and information on how to do stuff SDK2 is well documented, where as a lot of SDK3 world builders tend to be Udon Sharp users. There aren’t many graph users around. While there is some documentation around for those who are using both methods. Generally more advanced graph features aren’t covered much. So generally the best thing to consider is while SDK3 has much more options and potential in the world you can create, you may need to consider delving into C# at some point.