Is their an avatar asset that is the size of the average VR chat player?

Long story short, I wanna make sure my world is scaled so that nothing is too big, or too small. Anyone got a prefab/asset that might help me with this? (Alternatively, tips on how to make it to scale would be nice too!) Thanks in advance! :smiley:

I ususally import my own avatar to get a scale reference, but you can also use UnityChan

Or Kyle

3 Likes

Thank you!!

I’m no expert but I hit a similar issue when building my own worlds. Unity works to a metric scale of 1 unit = 1 meter but everything’s relative and I’ve found that quite a few VRChat avatars are a little smaller than what might be thought of as normal human scale and that seems to affects the scale they perceive the world at, not just their physical height. That’s the part I’d really like someone to explain - how the scaling and positioning of the camera view gizmo affects perceived scale. I’ve also read that the avatar’s arm length is important:

It’s not the height that matters, but the proportions of your armspan compared to the rest of the body.
If your avatar has disproportionately small arms, your feet will never reach the ground in game.
Conversely, if the avatar has super long gorilla arms, the floor would be at waist level.
https://steamcommunity.com/app/438100/discussions/1/3010053344552994555/

So for example, the freely available Kaziu avatar (made by BlueASIS for the Junkyard world) is very low to the ground but has the camera view perspective of a huge character. try it. It’s really odd, but quite cool too.

On the whole my 1:1 worlds work ok, but when I’ve imported avatars that I had from other non-VRChat projects (done lifelike to world scale) I’ve found that they’re a little taller than many people I meet.

VRC specific avatars don’t adhere to the standard unity scale, which is why I suggested those unity avatars in the first place.