Fingers barely moving

I tried looking around and haven’t seen anyone else with this issue. I just made my first avatar and it mostly works but most of the hand gestures aren’t working. The open hand gestures, right hand point, both rock and rolls are all fine, but everything else looks like a variation of the idle hand pose. If I try to do the ones that don’t work, I can see the hand moving only a little bit. All of the gestures change the facial expressions correctly though.
Since I’m totally new to unity and making avatars, I don’t even know where to start with fixing this.
Edit: here’s an example of the point gesture. I used desktop because I didn’t want to get the headset back out but it seemed to be the same.

Remove mask from fx controller

I don’t know how to do that even after googling. Unless you mean this in which case removing it didn’t change anything
image_2022-11-11_095825098

• I advise you not to leave the standard gestures, but to correct them yourself
    For convenience, take a ready-made controller template from
    VRChat SDK Avatars\Samples\AV3 Demo Assets\Animation\Controllers\vrc_AvatarV3HandsLayer.controller
  • Copy it (ctrl+D) and add it to the Gestures layer
  • Then find the animation used in the controller by clicking on it.
  • Copy and drag it to your folder, name it your own way, for example “Fist”. Now just duplicate your animation and adjust each animation to your gesture to make your hand look decent. Then just replace all these animations in your controller with your

Thank you for your help. I think I understand everything up until you say to duplicate my animation and adjust them. You mean duplicate the ones that are changing the expressions so I’ll have a second one for the hands? Also I can’t figure out how to adjust the hand animations. I can adjust the expressions in the blendshapes part, but I can’t find anything for the hands. I’m also still not quite sure what a “controller” is in this context.